More Information | Print Page | Sign In
News & Press: Industry News

VMA Executive Vice President Chosen for New VEDP Committee on International Trade

Friday, November 17, 2017   (0 Comments)

VEDPReleased by the Virginia Economic Development Partnership
Read the Full Press Release


RICHMOND - On November 16, 2017 The Virginia Economic Development Partnership (VEDP) announced the appointment of its new Committee on International Trade, who will advise the VEDP Board of Directors on all matters relating to international trade and trade promotion, and make recommendations as it deems necessary.

The committee, mandated to be established by the 2017 Virginia General Assembly, must include the following:

  • One ex-officio, voting member
  • A member of the Board of Commissioners of the Virginia Port Authority
  • Two citizen members appointed by the Governor;
  • Five citizen members appointed by the General Assembly Joint Rules Committee.

Each citizen appointee possesses experience or expertise in international trade or trade promotion.

The Appointees:

The Ex-officio member is Virginia Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry Basil Gooden.

Governor McAuliffe appointed:

  • Stuart S. Malawer, JD, PhD of Great Falls, Distinguished Service Professor of Law & International Trade, George Mason University (Schar School of Policy and Government)
  • John N. Pullen of Richmond, Chief Growth Officer, Luck Companies, and Vice Chairman, Board of Commissioners of the Virginia Port Authority
  • James Xu of Richmond, CEO, AVAIL Vapor LLC, and Executive Vice President, Evergreen Enterprises and Plow and Hearth

The General Assembly appointed:

  • Hampton Dowling of Potomac Falls, Managing Partner, The HCB Group LLC
  • Bob Feeser of Richmond, President, Consumer Packaging, WestRock
  • George Judd of Fredericksburg, Principal, Cask Services LLC
  • H. Michael “Mike” Ligon of Richmond, Vice President, Corporate Affairs, Universal Corporation
  • Arthur “Art” W. Moye, Jr. of Norfolk, Executive Vice President, Virginia Maritime Association.

Hampton Dowling will serve as Chairman.

“I congratulate the new Committee on International Trade, and am confident that the combination of the members’ impressive international expertise and business experience will further enhance Virginia’s award-winning international trade programs,” said Governor Terry McAuliffe.


Thank you to our Anchor Members



Virginia Maritime Association
236 E. Plume Street Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone: 757-622-2639
Fax: 757-622-6302